Posted: February 14, 2014 in Uncategorized

A friend of mine recently shared this story.  I was so moved by it that I asked her permission to let me share it with the world.

Between August 2010 and December 2010 I experienced a series of losses, none more heartbreaking than both my parents dying (my mother had been ill, and my dad had a heart attack shortly after she had died.)  The grieving process was beginning to be crushing as I felt this deep deep loss.  I couldn’t wrap my mind around these things!  But one day as I was worshipping the Living God, I remembered that death isn’t the end of the story and my parent’s were now free to worship in the FULLNESS, and there was an overwhelming comfort that when I finish this journey on earth I will be welcomed to join them in worship.  This not only brought comfort, but true joy to my heart.

Years prior, my mother, in wanting to give me a gift, began calling my voicemail while I was working and reading scripture.  I had saved many of these recordings and when she became ill I put them on a flash drive to ensure their safety forever.  Often at the end of the scripture she would let me know she was waiting for my call and that she loved me.

I wanted and needed a reminder of this perspective change- often the Lord tells His people to build an altar to remember what He has done in a particular place- and so I wanted to create a similar memorial stone.  Through modern day technology, I was able to put my mom’s recorded voice in a program, and take a picture of the sound waves.

The picture below is the picture of my mother’s voice saying, “I’m waiting for you honey, I love you.”

Christine Dunson Im Waiting for you honey I love you

This has become my eternal perspective memorial stone of sorts.  I am able to quickly shift my crushing thoughts of what I’ve lost or am missing to what heaven has gained and what I have to look forward to!

When people share what they think my tattoo is, the most popular answer is a cross.  I could not have planned that, but I find it very significant and poignant that the mark of eternal perspective and love also happens to be a cross.

Leave a comment